• Waitangi Museum Med Res-36

The Waitangi National Trust Board and Board Members.

The Waitangi Treaty Grounds is part of an estate which comprises 506 hectares. The Waitangi National Trust was set up by an Act of Parliament to administer the estate. It’s Deed of Trust, drawn up in 1932, set out the objectives for the Trust Board and the Treaty Grounds. These include priority being given to the repair and restoration of the former Residency which, at Lord Bledisloe’s request, was renamed the Treaty House. The Board continues to be made up of descendants and representatives of people directly associated with this historic site. The incumbent Governor-General has the right to choose to be Patron of the Trust.

In 2016 the Trust Board established a wholly-owned subsidiary, Waitangi Limited, to manage the day to day operations of the Treaty Grounds and wider estate. Waitangi Limited is governed by a Chairman and directors and managed by the Chief Executive, on behalf of the Trust Board.

Waitangi National Trust Board

Pita Tipene SMALL
Pita Tipene (2016)
A member of the family of Maihi Kawiti
Ngā Wai-hono-i-te-pō Paki (2020)
A representative of the Māori people living in the North Island south of the City of Auckland
Dame Claudia Orange (2021)
A person prominent in the life of the country as a statesman
Dennis McBrearty SMALL
Dennis McBrearty (2013)
A representative of the Pākeha residents of the Bay of Islands district
Kate Wilkinson SMALL
Hon Kate Wilkinson (2014)
A representative of the people, Pākeha and Māori, living in the South Island
Peeni Henare SMALL
Hon Peeni Henare (2015)
A representative of the Māori people living in the North Auckland Peninsula
Jane Fletcher SMALL
Jane Fletcher (2016)
A member of the family of the late Archdeacon Henry Williams
Mita Harris SMALL
Mita Harris (2016)
A member of the family of Tamati Waka Nene
Wiremu Puriri SMALL
Wiremu Puriri (2016)
A member of the family of Hone Heke
Tania Simpson SMALL
Tania Simpson (2017)
Deputy Chair
A member of the family of Pomare
Hugh Cotterill SMALL
Hugh Cotterill (2017)
A representative of the family of the late James Busby
Willow-Jean Prime (2020)
Appointed by the Prime Minister to represent the Government
Shane Reti SMALL
Dr Shane Reti (2018)
Appointed by the Leader of the Opposition, following consultation with the leader of each party that is not in Government or in coalition with the Government
D Dunsheath IMG_3840 (3) WNTB
David Dunsheath (2018)
A representative of the family of the late Edward Gibbon Wakefield

Waitangi Limited Board of Directors

Eru Lyndon SMALL
Eru Lyndon
Craig Wells SMALL
Craig Wells
Maxine Shortland
Maxine Shortland
Deryck Shaw
Deryck Shaw
Heidi Mackey
Heidi Mackey

Waitangi Treaty Grounds Executive Staff

Anita Woodfield
Head of Corporate Services
Jay Houpapa
Head of Tourism Operations
Ralph Johnson
Head of Planning and Strategy
Owen Taituha
Cultural Manager
Caitlin Timmer-Arends
Curatorial Manager
Nineke Metz
Head of Sales and Marketing
Aaron Stott
Executive Chef
Nicole Wihongi
Operations and Facilities Manager
Therese Walkinshaw
People and Culture Manager